Western African States 500 Francs

Western African States 500 Francs


Do you have a Western African States 500 Francs Coin? Here’s how to exchange it with us.

  •     Tell us how many 500 Francs Coins you want to exchange
  •     Click on the ‘Add to Cart’ button.
  •     This will add the exchange value to your online wallet.

Repeat these steps for all banknotes, coins, stamps, and gift cards you want to exchange. Complete the checkout process and get paid within a week or less.

You get: $0.40


The West African CFA franc is the official currency of eight states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bbbbissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. It was established in 1945, replacing the French West African franc. The CFA stands means “Communauté Financière Africaine” (African Financial Community”), and the Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO; Banque Centrale des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest) is the official issuing institution.

The first CFA francs coins issue were in denominations of 1 and 2 francs in 1948, followed by the 5, 10 and 25 francs coin in 1956. From 1959, all coins have been issued by the BCEAO which started to introduced new coins of 1, 5, 10 and 25 francs with the title “Banque Centrale des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest”. Between 1967 and 1976, coins in denomination of 50 and 100 francs were introduced, and a new small coin of 1 franc was introduced too. In 2003, 200 and 500 francs coins were introduced, replacing the smaller denomination notes. Contrary to some coins of the Central African States, there is no type of element that differentiates the emission for the member states in West Africa.

The 500 Western African CFA francs coin front design features a stylized sawfish, a symbol of fertility and prosperity in African mythologies (a sawfish shaped brass weight is used by the Ashanti Region natives for weighing gold dust (Ghana) and its representative in the West African States). The reverse coin design illustrates a mixture of the main food products in the West African States region (millet, maize, bananas and rice), the denomination and the date of issue. This coin is part of the 2003 – 2010 series, its rim is fluted and plain sections, and its color is silver and gold

Text: Banque Centrale Des Etats De L’afrique De L’ouest, Union Monetaire Ouest-Africaine, 500 FCFA, 2005.

Additional information


Current CFA francs west Africa coin

Product Currencies

CFA francs West Africa


Western African States

Tender Types


Country coin denominations

1, 10, 100, 200, 25, 250, 5, 50, 500


Gold, Silver

Composition material

Bimetallic: copper-nickel centre in brass ring


28 mm


2.2 mm




Coin alignment ↑↓


10.6 g


Corn (Zea mays), Rice (Oryza sativa)


2003, 2010


plants, Stylized Sawfish, Symbol

Get paid in 4 easy steps


Which currencies, coins, stamps, and gift cards you can exchange.

Add items

to your online wallet to see how much you will receive


Print the exchange form and fill it out.

Mail us your items

Include your exchange form. We will send you your money within a week or less.

Go to Top