Maldives  2 Rufiyaa

Maldives  2 Rufiyaa


Do you have a Maldives 2 Rufiyaa Coin? Here’s how to exchange it with us.

  •     Tell us how many 2 Rufiyaa Coins you want to exchange
  •     Click on the ‘Add to Cart’ button.
  •     This will add the exchange value to your online wallet.

Repeat these steps for all banknotes, coins, stamps, and gift cards you want to exchange. Complete the checkout process and get paid within a week or less.

You get: $0.05


The Maldivian rufiyaa is the official currency of the Maldives. The official currency symbol: Rf, MRf, MVR, ރ or /-. The currency’s name is derived from Sanskrit (a classical language of South Asia belonging to the Indo-Aryan branch of the Indo-European languages), which means rūpya, wrought silver.

The Cowry shells (Cypraea moneta) were the first kind of currency used in the Maldives. Historical accounts of travellers show that they were traded in this fashion as early as the 13th century. A single gold dinar was worth 400,000 Cowry shells in 1344. The Lrin (parallel straps of silver wire folded in half with dyed Persian and Arabic inscriptions) was imported and traded as cash in the 17th and 18th centuries. This type of coinage was used throughout the Persian Gulf, India, Ceylon, and the Far East. Historians think that this new kind of money was most likely exchanged for cowry shells, indicating the Maldives’ lucrative relationship with these nations. Ghaazee Mohamed Thakurufaanu Al Auzam was the first Sultan to have his seal imprinted on the coinage. Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar (1648–1687) introduced the first known coinage. These coins were produced in pure silver. Then, during the reign of Sultan Hassan Nooruddin in 1787, gold coins replaced the earlier silver coinage.

Throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Sultan Mohamed Imaadhudheen IV introduced bronze coins that were issued denominated in laari. His successor Sultan Mohamed Shamshudeen III (1904–1935) made the last of these coins, 1 and 4 laari denominations. Following the termination of coin manufacture for the Maldives, the Sultanate adopted the Ceylonese rupee as its official currency. In 1960, Sultan Mohamed Fareed introduced coins in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 25 and 50 laari. The 1 and 4 laari were withdrawn from circulation in 1966.

Then in 1983, the Maldives Monetary Authority (MMA) introduced the 1 rufiyaa coin, followed by a new coin series in 1984. The 2 rufiyaa coins were minted in 1995. Today are circulating coins in denominations of 1 laari, 2 laari, 5 laari, 10 laari, 25 laari, 50 laari, 1 rufiyaa, 2 rufiyaa.

The 2 Maldivian rufiyaa coin front design features a Conch shell (Charonia tritonis) and the Gregorian and Islamic Calendar issue date. The reverse of the coin presents the denomination, the name of the country, and a knotted bow. This coin is part of the 1995 – 2007 (1415 – 1428) series; its rim is fluted with lettering: Republic of Maldives. Its color is bronze.

Text: 1995 ١٤١٥ ދިވެހި ރާއްޖޭREPUBLIC OF MALDIVES 2 ރުފިޔާ RUFIYAA.

Additional information


Current Maldivian rufiyaa coin

Tender Types




Product Currencies

Maldivian Rufiyaa

Country coin denominations

0.01, 0.05, 0.1, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 10, 2, 5



Composition material

Nickel brass


25.0 mm


3.3 mm




Medal alignment ↑↑


11.7 g


Conch shell (Charonia tritonis)


1995, 2007


Animal, Calendar, Number, Shell, Symbol

Get paid in 4 easy steps


Which currencies, coins, stamps, and gift cards you can exchange.

Add items

to your online wallet to see how much you will receive


Print the exchange form and fill it out.

Mail us your items

Include your exchange form. We will send you your money within a week or less.

Go to Top